柔 · yawara

Learning jiu-jitsu in San Francisco

This guide covers the academies of San Francisco itself, from the Mission and SoMa out to the Sunset and the Richmond, the city that holds Ralph Gracie's headquarters and Carley Gracie's historic room. For someone just starting, the real question is not "which academy is best" but "which one fits me." This guide exists to answer that question.

Map

Every academy with a full entry is pinned on the map, and neighborhood-level pins say so. Map data © OpenStreetMap contributors.

Alliance Jiu Jitsu San Francisco

Alliance Jiu Jitsu San Francisco

Full entry →

Who this academy suits

A beginner who wants clear pricing and a no pressure start: a free trial class, then $249 a month for gi and no-gi or a $29.99 drop in, under a fourth degree black belt

Why we say it: The own site offers a free trial, publishes its rates, and names a fourth degree Alliance black belt head (verified 2026-07-24)

A parent choosing a class for a specific age: kids bands from 3-5 up to 13-15, at a fixed $189 a month

Why we say it: The own site lists kids age bands and a $189 kids rate (verified 2026-07-24)

Schedule verified Pricing published Free trialKids classesNo-giPricing publishedDrop-ins welcome

Your first visit

Free trial
A free trial class before you become a student, per the academy's own site source · 2026-09-03
Class schedule
The homepage schedule block is now page text with exact times: 21 slots across six days (15 adult, 6 kids): Mon/Wed all levels 12 PM, fundamentals and intermediate 5:30 PM, fundamentals and advanced 6:30 PM, sparring 7:30 PM; Tue all levels 8:30 AM and 8:30 PM; Thu no-gi 8:30 AM and 8:30 PM; Fri no-gi 5 PM and 6 PM; Sat all levels (no-gi welcome) 2 PM; kids Mon/Wed/Sat; no Sunday source · 2026-09-03

Classes and cost

Membership
Adults $249 a month and kids $189, both month to month with no contracts, registration or cancellation fees and no 30-day notice (the kids card labels its amount per class); drop-in $29.99 or $49.99 with a gi, credited toward membership on joining; private lessons $179.99 single, $169.99 each in a package of four, $159.99 each in a package of eight, in US dollars source · 2026-09-06
Programs
Kids classes in age bands 3-5, 6-9, 10-12 and 13-15 source · 2026-07-24
Programs
Adult gi jiu-jitsu and no-gi, drop-in classes and private instruction source · 2026-07-24

Location, instructors, contact

Address
1625 Bush Street, Suite 5, San Francisco, CA 94109 source · 2026-07-24
Instructors
Lucio Muramatsu and Nayo Mouton-Fuentes lead the academy source · 2026-07-24
Belt
By the academy's own account, Lucio Muramatsu is a fourth degree Alliance black belt and Nayo Mouton-Fuentes a black belt since 2019 source · 2026-07-24

Phone 415-630-7619 Website Naver Map Apple Maps

Compiled from the academy's public materials; we have not yet visited in person. Last checked: 2026-09-06. Spot something wrong? Tell us. We review every correction and log the change.
Carley Gracie Jiu-Jitsu Academy

Carley Gracie Jiu-Jitsu Academy

Who this academy suits

A beginner drawn to the city's deepest lineage: small evening groups under a Gracie-family grandmaster who, by the academy's own account, is a 9th degree red belt taught by Carlos Gracie

Why we say it: The own site publishes the rank claims (attributed) and a Mon/Wed/Fri 6:30 pm group schedule capped at 12 to 16 (verified 2026-07-24)

Schedule verified Structured curriculum

Your first visit

Free trial
No free trial is advertised; you visit during an evening session or call to enroll source · 2026-07-24
Class schedule
Group classes run Monday, Wednesday and Friday at 6:30 pm, with Tuesday and Thursday reserved for private and semi-private sessions by appointment source · 2026-07-24

Location, instructors, contact

Address
Dojo at 90 Welsh St, San Francisco, CA 94107 (mailing office 75 Broadway, Suite 202) source · 2026-07-24
Instructors
Grandmaster Carley Gracie teaches personally, with groups capped at 12 to 16 students source · 2026-07-24
Belt
By the academy's own account, a 9th degree red belt recognized by the Rio de Janeiro and U.S. federations, personally trained by Carlos Gracie source · 2026-07-24

Phone 415.788.0454 Naver Map Apple Maps

Compiled from the academy's public materials; we have not yet visited in person. Last checked: 2026-07-24. Spot something wrong? Tell us. We review every correction and log the change.
Charles Gracie Academy Richmond District

Charles Gracie Academy Richmond District

Who this academy suits

A beginner who wants to try before paying: a real three class free trial at a Charles Gracie room, with a freshly posted current-season schedule

Why we say it: The own site offers a three class free trial and posts a dated Summer 2026 schedule (verified 2026-07-24)

A parent enrolling a child: age-banded kids classes alongside adult gi and no-gi

Why we say it: The own site lists age-banded kids groups plus adult gi and no-gi (verified 2026-07-24)

Schedule verified Franchise networkFree trialKids classesNo-gi

Your first visit

Free trial
The site offers a three class free trial with a booking link source · 2026-09-03
Class schedule
The site posts a dated Summer 2026 schedule image, with adult gi and no-gi, private lessons, and kids groups (5-7, 7-9, 10-14) source · 2026-09-03

Classes and cost

Programs
Kids groups split by age: 5-7, 7-9, and 10-14 source · 2026-07-24
Programs
Adult gi and no-gi classes, plus private lessons in gi, no-gi, wrestling and self-defense source · 2026-07-24

Location, instructors, contact

Address
6300 California St, San Francisco, CA 94118 source · 2026-07-24
Instructors
Alex and Mark D'Ercole own and run the academy source · 2026-07-25
Belt
Mark D'Ercole is a black belt; Alex's rank is not stated source · 2026-07-25

Phone 415-941-7925 Website Naver Map Apple Maps

Compiled from the academy's public materials; we have not yet visited in person. Last checked: 2026-09-03. Spot something wrong? Tell us. We review every correction and log the change.
Colhado Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu

Colhado Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu

Who this academy suits

A beginner who wants a real dedicated BJJ academy, not a program inside an MMA gym: a Nova Uniao black belt, a dedicated beginners class, and a free trial you start with a form

Why we say it: The own site names a third degree Nova Uniao black belt, a Tue/Thu beginners class, and a form-start free trial (verified 2026-07-24)

A parent starting a young child: kids classes several days a week from age 4, at a family owned West Portal room with a transparent $40 drop in

Why we say it: The own site runs kids classes from age 4 and publishes a $40 day drop in (verified 2026-07-24)

Schedule verified Pricing published Free trialKids classesWomen's programNo-giDrop-ins welcome

Your first visit

Free trial
A free trial that begins once you complete the sign-up form, with a school gi required after the trial source · 2026-09-03
Class schedule
Kids run Mon and Wed 5-6pm plus Tue and Thu afternoons and Sat mornings, and a beginners class runs Tue and Thu 7:30-8:30pm, with adult, women's and open mat classes source · 2026-09-01

Classes and cost

Membership
The site publishes a $40 one day drop in; monthly membership amounts are not published source · 2026-09-03
Programs
Kids classes across the week, welcoming children from age 4 source · 2026-07-24
Programs
Beginners, adult, women's and no-gi classes, open mat, kids and private lessons; kids from age 4 source · 2026-07-24

Location, instructors, contact

Address
603 Taraval St, San Francisco, CA 94116 source · 2026-07-24
Instructors
Professor Matheus Colhado, head instructor and owner source · 2026-07-24
Belt
By the academy's own account, a third degree black belt under Rodrigo Feijao of Nova Uniao source · 2026-07-24

Phone 415-564-0777 Website Naver Map Apple Maps

Compiled from the academy's public materials; we have not yet visited in person. Last checked: 2026-09-03. Spot something wrong? Tell us. We review every correction and log the change.
Empire Jiu Jitsu

Empire Jiu Jitsu

Who this academy suits

A beginner who wants a serious, culture-first Mission room run by two named head instructors, with an all levels program and a live class calendar

Why we say it: The own site names both head instructors, frames the program for first timers to competitors, and embeds a live class calendar (verified 2026-07-24)

Someone who does not want to commit to a membership at first: a prepaid 10 class pass valid for six months lets you train at your own pace

Why we say it: The own site publishes a six month prepaid 10 class pass alongside the monthly membership (verified 2026-07-24)

Schedule verified Pricing published Structured curriculumDrop-ins welcome

Your first visit

Free trial
No free trial is advertised; you can start with a monthly membership or a prepaid 10 class pass valid for six months, booking through the embedded calendar source · 2026-07-24
Class schedule
The site embeds a live ZenPlanner class calendar, so the weekly grid renders right on the page and drives booking source · 2026-07-24

Classes and cost

Membership
A monthly membership tiered by frequency plus a prepaid 10 class pass valid for six months; exact USD amounts are not printed, quoted by email or phone source · 2026-07-24

Location, instructors, contact

Address
2356 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94110 source · 2026-07-24
Instructors
Kurt Osiander and Jake Scovel, both listed as head instructor source · 2026-07-24

Phone (415) 658-7520 Website Naver Map Apple Maps

Compiled from the academy's public materials; we have not yet visited in person. Last checked: 2026-07-24. Spot something wrong? Tell us. We review every correction and log the change.
Excelsior Martial Arts Academy

Excelsior Martial Arts Academy

Who this academy suits

A beginner who wants a welcoming family run academy with a real trial window: a three day free trial at a woman led room, with a black belt head instructor team and a kids program

Why we say it: The own site offers a three day free trial, names the head team, and lists a kids program (verified 2026-07-24)

Free trialKids classesWomen's programStriking classes too

Your first visit

Free trial
The site offers a three day free trial, with a contact or book a class prompt source · 2026-09-03

Classes and cost

Programs
A kids program, from age 3 per the D1 sweep source · 2026-07-24
Programs
Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu plus boxing, Filipino martial arts, wrestling and a kids program source · 2026-07-24

Location, instructors, contact

Address
1178 Geneva Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94112 source · 2026-07-24
Instructors
Martin Romualdez and Jyn Rose Aguas Romualdez, a husband and wife head instructor team source · 2026-07-24
Belt
By the academy's own account, the coaching team are black belts and include IBJJF black belt world champions source · 2026-07-24
Front-desk hours (not class times)
Monday to Friday 5:00 pm to 9:00 pm, closed weekends per the current site source · 2026-07-24

Phone (415) 692-1245 Website Naver Map Apple Maps

Compiled from the academy's public materials; we have not yet visited in person. Last checked: 2026-09-03. Spot something wrong? Tell us. We review every correction and log the change.
Magalit Jiu Jitsu Academy

Magalit Jiu Jitsu Academy

Who this academy suits

A beginner who wants a no-gi first room in the Mission and a free first class, under a black belt who came up through 10th Planet and competition jiu-jitsu

Why we say it: The own site offers a free class, frames a no-gi program, and names its 2014 black belt head (verified 2026-07-24)

Schedule verified Free trialNo-giKids classes

Your first visit

Free trial
The homepage offers a free trial by sign-up; unannounced drop-ins are not allowed, so submit the approval form before attending source · 2026-09-03
Class schedule
No-gi for adults and gi for kids 12 and under, on a BJJLink grid: all levels no-gi Mon/Wed/Fri 12 PM and 5 PM, Tue/Thu 6 PM; fundamentals Tue 5 PM; kids gi Mon/Wed 4 PM, Thu 5 PM, Sat 9 AM and 10 AM; competition class and open mat Sat 11 AM and 12 PM; members-only open mat Sun 11 AM; a trial is by sign-up link (the free wording of the July read is gone) and unannounced drop-ins are not allowed source · 2026-09-03

Classes and cost

Programs
No-gi for adults and gi for kids aged 12 and under, a competition proven no-gi program for all levels source · 2026-07-24

Location, instructors, contact

Address
3274 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94110 source · 2026-07-24
Instructors
Travis Magalit, head instructor and owner, with coaches Noah Chen and Ben Jones alongside source · 2026-07-24
Belt
By the academy's own account, awarded his black belt in 2014 under Leandro Vieira and Stephan Goyne, after competing to brown belt at 10th Planet source · 2026-07-24

Website Naver Map Apple Maps

Compiled from the academy's public materials; we have not yet visited in person. Last checked: 2026-09-03. Spot something wrong? Tell us. We review every correction and log the change.
Outlaw Jiu-Jitsu

Outlaw Jiu-Jitsu

Who this academy suits

A beginner who wants a low commitment start in the Excelsior: a free trial and a flat $25 per class rate at a neighborhood room with a pro MMA head coach, gi BJJ for adults and kids

Why we say it: The own site offers a free trial, publishes a $25 per class rate, and names the head coach (verified 2026-07-24)

Pricing published Free trialKids classesPricing publishedStriking classes too

Your first visit

Free trial
The site offers a free trial, with duration and terms not detailed on the page source · 2026-09-03

Classes and cost

Membership
Per class rates are published: kids BJJ $25, kids Muay Thai $25, adult BJJ with gi $25 for a one hour class; monthly amounts are not specified, in US dollars source · 2026-09-03
Programs
Kids Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu and kids Muay Thai source · 2026-07-24
Programs
Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu for kids and adults (gi), Muay Thai for kids, MMA, self-defense and private classes source · 2026-07-24

Location, instructors, contact

Address
1029 Geneva Ave, San Francisco, CA 94112 source · 2026-07-24
Instructors
Professor Ronal Hernandez, head instructor and a professional MMA fighter source · 2026-07-24

Phone (415) 349-2014 Website Naver Map Apple Maps

Compiled from the academy's public materials; we have not yet visited in person. Last checked: 2026-09-03. Spot something wrong? Tell us. We review every correction and log the change.

Parkside Jiu-Jitsu

Full entry →

Who this academy suits

A beginner in the Sunset who wants published prices and a free way to look first — the Sunday open mat costs nothing

Why we say it: The site prints both memberships and labels the Sunday open mat free (verified 2026-07-31)

Someone who wants jiu-jitsu and judo on the same mat — the space is shared with the SF Judo Institute

Why we say it: The site states it trains with the SF Judo Institute, with jiu-jitsu and/or judo daily (verified 2026-07-31)

Schedule verified Pricing published Pricing publishedKids classes

Your first visit

Free trial
Start by signing the waiver in the registration system; the Sunday open mat is published as free source · 2026-09-03
Class schedule
Adults Mon 6, Tue 6:30, Thu 6:30, Fri 6; kids Tue/Thu afternoons; Sunday open mat 10–11:30 — free source · 2026-09-01

Classes and cost

Membership
Published: kids unlimited $140/month, adults unlimited $180/month; the shared facility's pricing page adds a $100 enrollment fee, waived for a one-year membership, and a $35 drop-in; Sunday open mat free source · 2026-09-06
Programs
Kids 5–9 Tue/Thu 4:30, ages 10+ Tue/Thu 5:30 source · 2026-09-03

Location, instructors, contact

Address
2455 Taraval Street, San Francisco, CA 94116 — the SF Judo Institute's building source · 2026-07-31
Instructors
Three named black belts: Mike Sedano (under Rigan Machado), Dante Giovannelli (under Ralph Gracie), Nathalie Kaplan (under Sedano) source · 2026-09-03

Website Naver Map Apple Maps

Compiled from the academy's public materials; we have not yet visited in person. Last checked: 2026-09-06. Spot something wrong? Tell us. We review every correction and log the change.
Ralph Gracie Jiu-Jitsu Headquarters

Ralph Gracie Jiu-Jitsu Headquarters

Who this academy suits

A beginner who wants a real beginners track at the Bay Area's original Ralph Gracie academy, with a trial class you can book first

Why we say it: The own site lists a beginners class and an all levels class and offers a bookable trial (verified 2026-07-24)

A woman starting out or a parent, who wants a dedicated women's class and kids programs from age 4

Why we say it: The program set includes a women's class and kids tracks from age 4 (verified 2026-07-24)

Schedule verified Franchise networkWomen's programKids classesFree trialDaily beginner classes

Your first visit

Free trial
The site invites you to book a trial class outright source · 2026-09-03
Class schedule
Adult classes run as All Levels, Beginners, Women's, No Gi, sparring, competition and striking, with kids as Gracie Cubs (4-6) and Kids Striking (7-12); the weekly grid lives behind the site's schedule link source · 2026-09-03

Classes and cost

Programs
Kids Jiu-Jitsu, Gracie Cubs (ages 4-6), and Kids Striking (ages 7-12) source · 2026-07-24

Location, instructors, contact

Address
1166 Howard St, San Francisco, CA 94103 source · 2026-07-24

Phone (650) 663-9342 Website Naver Map Apple Maps

Compiled from the academy's public materials; we have not yet visited in person. Last checked: 2026-09-03. Spot something wrong? Tell us. We review every correction and log the change.

Rise Combat Sports

Who this academy suits

A beginner who wants total price transparency — every rate printed, down to a $40 single class, rare in SF

Why we say it: The own rates page publishes the full card, against an SF market that mostly publishes nothing (verified 2026-07-31)

Gi and no-gi plus real striking under one roof — eight BJJ classes a week on a live calendar

Why we say it: The own Zen Planner publishes 8 weekly BJJ classes beside the striking tracks, with live counters (verified 2026-07-31)

Schedule verified Pricing published Striking classes tooNo-giPricing publishedDrop-ins welcome

Your first visit

Free trial
A free class is now offered from the homepage through a booking form, and the paid door stays fully priced: one class $40, day pass $70 source · 2026-09-03
Class schedule
Published on the gym's own Zen Planner: 8 BJJ classes a week (gi ×5, no-gi ×2, +1), plus Muay Thai and boxing, with live per-class capacity counters source · 2026-07-31

Classes and cost

Membership
Fully published: $229/month (activation $29), prepaid 6mo $1,100 / 12mo $2,100, one class $40, day pass $70 source · 2026-09-03
Programs
Gi five times a week and no-gi twice, on the live calendar source · 2026-07-31

Location, instructors, contact

Address
1118 Harrison Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 source · 2026-07-31

Phone 415-218-7786 Website Naver Map Apple Maps

Compiled from the academy's public materials; we have not yet visited in person. Last checked: 2026-09-03. Spot something wrong? Tell us. We review every correction and log the change.
Romulo Melo Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu

Romulo Melo Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu

Who this academy suits

A nervous first timer who wants a gentle private start: a free one on one 30 minute intro before any group class, at a Gracie Humaita room in central SF

Why we say it: The own site offers a free private 30 minute intro and names the Gracie Humaita lineage (verified 2026-07-24)

Someone with a working schedule: early morning, midday and evening classes across the week, plus a fundamentals and a no-gi track

Why we say it: The weekly schedule runs early morning, midday and evening slots, with a fundamentals and no-gi class (verified 2026-07-24)

Schedule verified Free trialNo-giEarly morning classesDaytime classes

Your first visit

Free trial
The site offers a free private 30 minute introductory class, a one on one first step rather than a group drop-in source · 2026-09-04
Class schedule
Classes run mornings, midday and evenings through the week, with a members open mat on Saturday source · 2026-09-01

Classes and cost

Programs
Group BJJ, a fundamentals class, a no-gi class, private classes and class streaming source · 2026-07-24

Location, instructors, contact

Address
1313 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94133 source · 2026-07-24
Instructors
Romulo Melo, head instructor and owner source · 2026-07-24
Belt
By the academy's own account, trained under Vinicius Aieta and Royler Gracie at Gracie Humaita in Rio source · 2026-07-24

Phone (415) 816-9104 Website Naver Map Apple Maps

Compiled from the academy's public materials; we have not yet visited in person. Last checked: 2026-09-04. Spot something wrong? Tell us. We review every correction and log the change.
Skrap Pack Mission

Skrap Pack Mission

Who this academy suits

A beginner who wants real BJJ with the option of striking, under a black belt, with clear pricing: gi and no-gi inside a storied Mission fight team, first class booked by form

Why we say it: The own BJJ page names a black belt head and a gi and no-gi program, and the pricing page publishes memberships and a first class initiation (verified 2026-07-24)

Pricing published No-giStriking classes tooPricing published

Your first visit

Free trial
A first class booked by form, with a $150 one time initiation that includes one Muay Thai and one jiu-jitsu lesson source · 2026-09-03

Classes and cost

Membership
A $150 initiation, youth $250 a month and adult $265 a month for unlimited access to five disciplines, month to month, in US dollars source · 2026-09-03
Programs
Gi and no-gi jiu-jitsu for all levels as fundamentals, no-gi and open mat, within a five discipline program source · 2026-07-24

Location, instructors, contact

Address
672 South Van Ness Ave, San Francisco, CA 94110 source · 2026-07-24
Instructors
Mike Peltzer, head BJJ instructor, who co-founded the gym with Gilbert Melendez source · 2026-07-24
Belt
By the gym's own account, Mike Peltzer is a black belt who trained in Rio under Dennis Asche and Roberto Correa, awarded by Gilbert Melendez source · 2026-07-24

Website Naver Map Apple Maps

Compiled from the academy's public materials; we have not yet visited in person. Last checked: 2026-09-03. Spot something wrong? Tell us. We review every correction and log the change.
Studio86 Jiu Jitsu

Studio86 Jiu Jitsu

Who this academy suits

A beginner who wants clear published pricing before walking in: memberships from $200 a month and a $40 out-of-town drop-in, at a black-belt-led room with beginner gi fundamentals and no-gi across the week

Why we say it: The own site publishes memberships from $200/mo and a $40 drop-in (re-read 2026-09-04), a weekly gi and no-gi schedule, and Yukito Isoda as a third degree black belt under Lucas Leite (read 2026-07-24)

Schedule verified Pricing published No-giKids classesPricing publishedDrop-ins welcome

Your first visit

Free trial
First visits are by a sign up form completed before arriving, and all classes and out of town drop ins ($40) are by appointment source · 2026-09-04
Class schedule
Kids and gi run Mon and Thu evenings, with no-gi Wed and Fri, a Saturday kids class and no-gi open mat, and Sunday privates source · 2026-09-01

Classes and cost

Membership
Memberships start at $200 a month month-to-month with annual discounts, and an out of town drop in is $40, in US dollars source · 2026-09-04
Programs
Gi and no-gi for adults from beginner up, an executive gi class, a no-gi open mat, kids (6-12), and a Saturday kickboxing class source · 2026-07-24

Location, instructors, contact

Address
1204 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109 (appointment only) source · 2026-07-24
Instructors
Owner Yukito Isoda teaches, with brown belt coaches Flora Rooker and Hamza Louzan alongside source · 2026-07-24
Belt
By the academy's own account, Yukito Isoda is a third degree black belt under Lucas Leite source · 2026-07-24

Website Naver Map Apple Maps

Compiled from the academy's public materials; we have not yet visited in person. Last checked: 2026-09-04. Spot something wrong? Tell us. We review every correction and log the change.
World Team USA Muay Thai BJJ and Fitness

World Team USA Muay Thai BJJ and Fitness

Who this academy suits

Someone who wants grappling alongside Muay Thai under one roof: a structured, named BJJ program in gi and no-gi for beginners through competitors, with a low cost intro lesson

Why we say it: The own BJJ page names the professors and a gi and no-gi program, and the site publishes a $79 intro lesson (verified 2026-07-24)

Pricing published No-giStriking classes tooPricing published

Your first visit

Free trial
A $79 introduction lesson billed as perfect for beginners, plus a $49 day pass source · 2026-09-03

Classes and cost

Membership
A $79 intro lesson and a $49 day pass; ongoing membership amounts are not published, in US dollars source · 2026-09-03
Programs
A BJJ program for beginners through competitors, gi and no-gi, within a wider Muay Thai and MMA program source · 2026-07-24

Location, instructors, contact

Address
445 Judah St, San Francisco, CA 94122 source · 2026-07-24
Instructors
The BJJ program is led by named professors Conrad Bui and Frederico Bittar Gomes source · 2026-07-24

Phone (415) 213-5281 Website Naver Map Apple Maps

Compiled from the academy's public materials; we have not yet visited in person. Last checked: 2026-09-03. Spot something wrong? Tell us. We review every correction and log the change.

Academies being verified

We are re-confirming the essentials: class schedules and trial mechanics. Each academy joins the full guide once its facts meet the bar.

  • Bay Jiu-Jitsu · Official site
    Kids classes
    1628 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94115 · 833-229-5487
    Last checked: 2026-07-24
  • Combat Krav Maga SF · Official site
    No-gi
    1455 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94109 · The no-gi BJJ class is taught by Seiji, per the gym's own BJJ page
    Last checked: 2026-07-24
  • Nimbus BJJ
  • Rg Sunset

Frequently asked questions

Which academies in San Francisco offer a free trial?

Alliance Jiu Jitsu San Francisco: A free trial class before you become a student, per the academy's own site; Charles Gracie Academy Richmond District: The site offers a three class free trial with a booking link; Colhado Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu: A free trial that begins once you complete the sign-up form, with a school gi required after the trial; Excelsior Martial Arts Academy: The site offers a three day free trial, with a contact or book a class prompt; Magalit Jiu Jitsu Academy: The homepage offers a free trial by sign-up; unannounced drop-ins are not allowed, so submit the approval form before attending …

How do I book a trial class?

It differs by academy. Where we could verify the booking method, it is listed under "Your first visit" in that academy's entry; otherwise, asking through the academy's official channel is the most reliable route.

I'm a complete beginner. Can I just show up?

It differs by academy. Entries show where a fundamentals program and first-visit process are verified. For the rest, check with the academy before visiting. For what a first class actually feels like, see the beginner posts on our blog.

What a first class costs, city by city: the study