柔 · yawara
Learning jiu-jitsu in eastern Tokyo
This guide covers the academies of the shitamachi east: Asakusa, Kinshicho, Fukagawa, and the river wards. For someone just starting, the real question is not "which academy is best" but "which one fits me." This guide exists to answer that question.
Open mats in Eastern Tokyo
Rooms whose published schedule prints an open mat, each with the complete recorded summary of that schedule, its source and the date it was read. What an open mat is, and what a beginner does with one
- matroom tokyo, Asakusa A published class menu: a white-belt beginner class, a 60-minute basic class, all-level and no-gi classes each with an hour of open mat, a blue-belt-and-up competition class, privates, and visitor slots; a trial may join the beginner, basic or all-level class (basic recommended); exact weekly times live in the booking system source · 2026-09-03
A schedule is what the page printed on the day it was read. The academy's card carries the visitor and price facts recorded for it; where admission to an open mat, or its cost, is not published, ask the academy.
Map
Every academy with a full entry is pinned on the map, and neighborhood-level pins say so. Map data © OpenStreetMap contributors.
CAVE BJJ, in Azumabashi
Who this academy suits
A first-timer who wants zero friction: a free trial and observation booked by form, at a dedicated jiu-jitsu gym right at the Honjo-Azumabashi station door, one stop from Asakusa
Why we say it: The own site publishes the free trial and observation with the reservation form and the 0-minute station access (verified 2026-07-18)
A beginner who wants a full class ladder with a route into MMA later: a beginner jiu-jitsu class alongside basic, all-level, no-gi, and kids, with a sister MMA gym on a Master membership
Why we say it: The own site lists the nine-category ladder including beginner jiu-jitsu, no-gi, and kids, and the Master-membership access to the parent gym (verified 2026-07-18)
Schedule verified Pricing published Free trialKids classesNo-gi
Your first visit
- Trial
- A free trial and observation booked four ways (calendar, inquiry, LINE or phone), with dated free trial sessions posted monthly; the campaign live at read time waives the enrollment fee and the first month and discounts the gi, noted as time-boxed marketing source · 2026-09-04
- Class schedule
- Nine class categories including a beginner jiu-jitsu class, kids, basic, all-level, competition, sparring, and no-gi; facility hours 7:00-23:00, closed on dates containing a 9 source · 2026-09-23
Classes and cost
- Membership
- Enrollment is 10,000 yen plus a 1,100 admin fee and 2,000 insurance a year. CAVE BJJ membership is now full time 13,200 yen a month, women and students 9,900, kids 8,800, four days 8,800; the master tier using both rooms is 16,500 full time or 12,100 for women and students. A visitor pays 3,300 a visit and gi rental is 1,100; a beginner campaign waives the enrollment fee and first month, in Japanese yen source · 2026-09-03
Location, instructors, contact
- Address
- Ose Plaza Station Building 2F, 2-3-12 Azumabashi, Sumida-ku, Tokyo (at Honjo-Azumabashi Station) source · 2026-07-18
- Instructors
- The representative is Utsugi Go (reading to confirm), with seven instructors on the own staff page; belts and lineage are not published source · 2026-07-18
Phone 03-6240-4697 (the CAVE BJJ line, not the parent gym) Website Naver Map Apple Maps
Carpe Diem Fukagawa, at Morishita
Who this academy suits
A nervous first-timer: a white-belt-only class, a basic class with a fifteen-minute sparring cap and a supervising instructor, optional sparring in writing, and a standing free trial
Why we say it: The own pages publish the white-belt class, the basic-class sparring rules, and the standing free trial (verified 2026-07-18)
Someone east of the river who wants the network brand: the only Carpe Diem mat in east Tokyo, on the network's own dojo list, with the founder as representative and a Brazilian black belt teaching
Why we say it: The network's own dojo list carries the room (2026-07-18) and the own pages name the founder as representative and the black-belt head (2026-07-18)
A before-work trainer: a 7:00 morning class is published, with content set to the day's participants so beginners can join
Why we say it: The own schedule page publishes the 7:00 morning class and its beginner-friendly design (verified 2026-07-18)
Schedule verified Pricing published Franchise networkFree trialKids classesNo-giEarly morning classes
Your first visit
- Trial
- A free trial and observation welcomed anytime, booked through LINE or the site form (verified 2026-07-18) source · 2026-09-04
- Class schedule
- A published class design: a white-belt-only class, a 7:00 morning class, a basic class with sparring capped near 15 minutes, plus regular, advanced, and no-gi grappling classes; exact weekly times live in the hacomono booking system source · 2026-09-23
Classes and cost
- Membership
- Membership, tax included, is an 11,000 yen enrollment plus full time 17,600 a month, an eight day plan 13,200, women's full time 13,200, student full time 13,200, and kids full time 8,800 through sixth grade. A private locker with staff laundry, drying, and a towel is 11,000 yen a month on a first come basis, and enrollment runs through the hacomono site by credit card, in Japanese yen source · 2026-09-23
- Programs
- A kids program through 6th grade, with middle-schoolers welcome in kids or adult classes source · 2026-07-18
Location, instructors, contact
- Address
- 4-12-13-2F Morishita, Koto-ku, Tokyo 135-0004 (take the building stairs to 2F; 5 min from Kikukawa Station) source · 2026-07-18
- Instructors
- Head instructor Robson Tanno, XuXa, a Brazilian black belt by the gym's own pages, with a 2022 KIT pro-event main-event win cited source · 2026-07-18
- Parking
- No gym lot; the gym points drivers to several paid lots nearby source · 2026-07-18
Fighting Lab Monzen-Nakacho (Toikatsu Dojo chain)
Who this academy suits
The budget starter who wants a gi and a belt path at a chain price: the room's own timetable carries six gi jiu-jitsu classes a week, three of them beginner classes, behind a free one-minute web trial
Why we say it: The room's own timetable carries the six gi cells, and the chain page publishes the budget model and the free web-form trial (verified 2026-07-18)
A complete beginner who wants a class labeled for beginners, not just open mat: a beginner jiu-jitsu class runs three times a week here
Why we say it: The room's own timetable lists the beginner jiu-jitsu cells three times a week (verified 2026-07-18)
Schedule verified Pricing published Free trial
Your first visit
- Trial
- A free trial booked by the chain's web form; a same-day-join campaign waiving entry, first month, and registration was live at read time, noted as time-boxed marketing source · 2026-09-03
- Class schedule
- The room's own timetable carries six gi jiu-jitsu classes a week, three regular and three beginner, the densest gi grid of any Toikatsu room checked in the D2 pass source · 2026-07-18
Classes and cost
- Membership
- The monthly fee is 9,000 yen for unlimited training at every chain location, with 7,900 for middle and high schoolers and 6,800 for elementary students. Under the live campaign, joining the same day after a trial waived the enrollment costs, in Japanese yen source · 2026-09-03
Location, instructors, contact
- Address
- Aviace 2F, 2-11-5 Monzen-Nakacho, Koto-ku, Tokyo 135-0048 source · 2026-07-18
NOW or NEVER, in Kameido
Who this academy suits
The adult who thinks they started too late: the founder began jiu-jitsu at 33, earned his black belt at 39, and built this room in his 40s around beginners in their 30s and 40s
Why we say it: The own site publishes Sugimoto's arc (attributed) and the 30s-40s beginner positioning (verified 2026-07-18)
A beginner who wants to train often and early: a beginner class six times a week with 7am slots, behind a free trial and observation anytime
Why we say it: The own site publishes the six-times-a-week beginner class with 7am mornings and the free anytime trial (verified 2026-07-18)
A parent in Kameido: a kids jiu-jitsu class runs three times a week alongside the adult program
Why we say it: The own site publishes the three-times-a-week kids jiu-jitsu class (verified 2026-07-18)
Schedule verified Pricing published Free trialDaily beginner classesEarly morning classesNo-giKids classes
Your first visit
- Trial
- A free trial and observation anytime, booked in advance through the site form or LINE, with a class matched to your level source · 2026-09-04
- Class schedule
- A beginner-oriented class six times a week with 7am mornings, no-gi grappling four or more times a week, a monthly wrestling class free to members, plus kids and privates source · 2026-09-03
Classes and cost
- Membership
- Monthly membership is an eight day plan 12,100 yen, full time 13,200, students 12,100, women 12,100, and jiu-jitsu kids 9,900, in Japanese yen source · 2026-07-18
- Programs
- A kids jiu-jitsu class three times a week source · 2026-07-18
Location, instructors, contact
- Address
- 5-22-10 Kameido, Koto-ku, Tokyo 136-0071 (5 min from Kameido Station) source · 2026-07-18
- Instructors
- Founder and head instructor Sugimoto Takashi, a black belt who by his own account started jiu-jitsu at 33, earned his belt at 39, and opened this gym in 2022 at 42 source · 2026-07-18
Phone 03-6807-0311 (irregular closing days) Website Naver Map Apple Maps
Paraestra Koiwa
Who this academy suits
A beginner on the Sobu-line side of Koiwa who wants a neighborhood dojo: a room carrying the Paraestra name in Nishi-Koiwa, with a simple trial-reservation funnel and a near-daily blog
Why we say it: The own site self-identifies as Paraestra, runs the trial funnel, and carried blog posts on three recent dates (verified 2026-07-18)
Someone who wants to mix jiu-jitsu with striking: the room runs mixed martial arts, jiu-jitsu, and kickboxing under one roof
Why we say it: The own site title lists the three programs (verified 2026-07-18)
Striking classes too
Your first visit
- Trial
- A trial-reservation funnel; the enrollment page now prints a one-time 1,000 yen trial credited against joining, beside a line offering a free trial to those who contact the dojo in advance, so ask which applies source · 2026-09-03
Location, instructors, contact
- Address
- Lions Mansion 1F (101), 2-17-1 Nishi-Koiwa, Edogawa-ku, Tokyo source · 2026-07-18
- Instructors
- Representative Ouchi, who heads both the Koiwa and Ayase rooms; belt and lineage were not captured and are outreach items source · 2026-07-18
Phone 03-5668-0047 or 090-8300-6231 (the mobile line is shared with the Ayase sister room) Website Naver Map Apple Maps
Paraestra Tokyo-Bay Kasai, in Nishi-Kasai
Who this academy suits
A beginner in the Kasai belt who wants the lowest-friction start: zero enrollment fee for every course in writing, unlimited observation, and a free first trial with one reservation
Why we say it: The own join page prints the zero enrollment fee and the trial policy verbatim (verified 2026-07-18)
A beginner who wants a decorated, referee-grade eye on the fundamentals: a head with a published 22-year third-degree black belt, JBJJF referee status, and a pro Shooto record, plus pros on the bench
Why we say it: The own staff page publishes the bio and the pro bench verbatim (verified 2026-07-18, attributed)
Someone who moves around Tokyo: most tiers train free at Paraestra branches nationwide and both TB rooms are shared, a network perk independents cannot match
Why we say it: The own join page publishes the cross-branch perk per tier (verified 2026-07-18)
Pricing published Franchise networkFree trialKids classesStriking classes too
Your first visit
- Trial
- Nearly every class is open to observation and trial: unlimited observation, one free trial, advance reservation required (verified 2026-07-18) source · 2026-09-03
Classes and cost
- Membership
- Enrollment is 0 yen on every course. Monthly plans are the standard course 13,200 yen for all classes with cross branch access, a five day plan 11,000, students under 23 at 12,100, ages 40 and up 12,100, ages 50 and up 11,000, middle and high schoolers 9,900, and women 9,900, while fitness plans are 11,000 for men and 8,800 for women. Kids jiu-jitsu is 8,800 yen, kids kick 7,700, a two week course 11,000, and a visitor day 3,000. A family discount of 2,000 yen a month applies from the second member, and sports insurance is an optional 2,000 a year, in Japanese yen source · 2026-09-03
- Programs
- A kids jiu-jitsu course for elementary 1 through middle school and a kids kickboxing course from elementary 3 source · 2026-07-18
Location, instructors, contact
- Address
- Shinmei Bldg 1F, 2-23-7 Nishi-Kasai, Edogawa-ku, Tokyo (about 8 min from Nishi-Kasai Station north exit) source · 2026-07-18
- Instructors
- Head Hirose Takayuki, by the gym's own page a 22-year third-degree black belt, JBJJF official referee, and pro Shooto veteran, with 17 years teaching jiu-jitsu source · 2026-07-18
Phone 03-3688-3108, direct line 080-5537-1903 Naver Map Apple Maps
Royce Gracie Jiu-Jitsu Academy Tokyo, formerly MAX Jiu-Jitsu Academy, by Kinshicho
Who this academy suits
A beginner drawn to jiu-jitsu's first family: a head who publishes the first-Japanese-Royce-black-belt claim, awarded 2023 after decades under Royce, teaching a self-defense-first curriculum
Why we say it: The own homepage publishes the lineage claim verbatim (2026-07-18, attributed) and the own pages frame the self-defense-first curriculum (2026-07-17)
Someone in the Kinshicho or Ryogoku belt who wants an established room: Sumida's oldest mats by the academy's own 2004 account, seven minutes from the station, with a written free first consultation before the trial class
Why we say it: The legacy domain publishes the 2004 founding (2026-07-17, attributed), the own site states the station walk, and the beginners page prints the free 15-minute consultation ahead of the 60-minute trial (re-read 2026-09-03)
Pricing published Free trialKids classes
Your first visit
- Trial
- First-timers now start with a free 15-minute consultation, then a 60-minute trial class whose fee is not printed; register on the site, book the consultation, then the trial, with classes booked in the Spaces by Wix app source · 2026-09-03
Classes and cost
- Membership
- Enrollment costs total 20,000 yen, including a 3,000 annual fee and 2,000 sports insurance. Monthly plans, before tax, are the Royce Gracie jiu-jitsu membership 18,000 yen, kids and teens 15,000, and fitness only 10,000, with a hold at 3,300 a month for up to two months. The designated gi is bought from their online shop, in Japanese yen source · 2026-09-03
- Programs
- A kids and teens membership tier exists source · 2026-07-18
Location, instructors, contact
- Address
- 4-34-1 Midori, Sumida-ku, Tokyo 130-0021 (7 min from Kinshicho Station south exit) source · 2026-07-18
- Instructors
- Head Masuzawa, by the academy's own account the first and only Japanese holder of a Royce Gracie black belt (awarded October 2023), an IBJJF-certified third-degree black belt who trained under Royce in the US from the 1990s source · 2026-07-18
- Founded
- Founded 2004, and by its own account the first BJJ dojo in Sumida-ku source · 2026-07-17
- Front-desk hours (not class times)
- Open 10:00-22:00 with schedule variation, closed Sundays source · 2026-07-18
Silent Jiu-Jitsu & Sumida Sambo Club
Who this academy suits
A beginner who wants to touch jiu-jitsu before committing: a small club that welcomes beginners and women, states a no-hard-sparring culture, and now prints a free trial lesson ahead of a 5,000 yen monthly membership, arranged by inquiry
Why we say it: The own channel states the no-hard-sparring culture and the beginner-and-women welcome (verified 2026-07-18); its enrollment page now prints the free trial lesson with its fees and the monthly tariff (re-read 2026-09-04)
Someone curious about sambo as well as jiu-jitsu: the club works both alongside grappling, an unusual pairing in Tokyo
Why we say it: The own channel names jiu-jitsu, sambo, and grappling as what the club works (verified 2026-07-18)
Schedule verified Pricing published
Your first visit
- Trial
- Observation any time and a trial lesson by inquiry form: the lesson itself is now printed as free, but a 2,000 yen a year sports-insurance premium plus a 140 yen fee must be paid at a convenience store the day before; joining on the day waives the first month source · 2026-09-04
- Class schedule
- The practice-schedule page now prints one fixed weekly slot, Saturday 9 PM to 11 PM at Owl Sports Gym near Sumiyoshi station, with week-to-week dates announced on the club's X account; do not contact the gym directly, and visiting practitioners are accepted only through their own academy source · 2026-09-03
Classes and cost
- Membership
- The club now publishes a monthly tariff: no enrollment fee, 5,000 yen a month (2,000 for grade-5-to-junior-high kids and for women), insurance 2,000 yen a year plus a 140 yen fee, first month free on same-day joining; the 1,000 yen per-session venue fee of July no longer prints, in Japanese yen source · 2026-09-04
Location, instructors, contact
- Address
- Practice venue (own site): Owl Sports Gym, 2-5-13 Sumiyoshi, Koto-ku, Tokyo; the JBJJF address (1-7-9 Narihira) is the registrant's address with no mats, and Higashin Arena in Kinshicho also hosts sessions source · 2026-07-18
- Instructors
- Club instructor Watabiki Takeharu, named on the club's own channel and the JBJJF registration; belt and lineage are not stated source · 2026-07-18
Splicing Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu, in Higashi-Kasai
Who this academy suits
A beginner who wants a veteran teacher and a full weekly grid: a black belt with 24 years in the art and 17 teaching by his own bio, running classes six days a week (no Thursday on the grid)
Why we say it: The own site publishes Hara's attributed bio and a six-day class grid (verified 2026-09-03)
A resident of quiet Higashi-Kasai who wants a studio rather than a fight gym: a jiu-jitsu-and-yoga room with a six-day grid, the family-neighborhood alternative to the Nishi-Kasai fight-gym format
Why we say it: The own site presents a jiu-jitsu-and-yoga studio and publishes the six-day grid (verified 2026-07-18)
Schedule verified Pricing published Free trial
Your first visit
- Trial
- The trial is free, one time per person, and explicitly for people who intend to join, per the own site source · 2026-09-23
- Class schedule
- The site's schedule block now prints six days with exact times: Sun 9:30 AM drills-only and 10:30 AM; Mon, Wed and Fri 10:30 AM, 3 PM and 7:30 PM (Wed evening no-gi and gi); Tue 7:30 PM only; Sat 10:30 AM and 7 PM; no Thursday column; kids Mon and Wed 6 PM; holidays run the Sunday schedule source · 2026-09-23
Classes and cost
- Membership
- The monthly fee is 11,000 yen, with women at 8,800, students 8,800 and kids 7,700; affiliated visitors pay 2,000. Personal training now runs 15,000 yen an hour with Hara and 10,000 for members or with Watanabe, in Japanese yen source · 2026-09-23
Location, instructors, contact
- Address
- 5-8-5 Higashi-Kasai, Edogawa-ku, Tokyo source · 2026-07-18
- Instructors
- Head instructor Hara, a jiu-jitsu black belt with, by his own bio, 24 years in the art and 17 teaching; a second instructor named Watanabe is referenced through the private-training tariff source · 2026-07-18
Strapple Kameari
Who this academy suits
A beginner in Katsushika who wants an actual jiu-jitsu academy rather than an MMA gym: a dedicated room 4 minutes from Kameari Station
Why we say it: The own site gives the 4-minute station walk and presents a dedicated jiu-jitsu academy (verified 2026-07-18)
A beginner comfortable messaging on social: the first trial is free, booked through the contact form or a social-media DM
Why we say it: The own site publishes the DM-and-form trial funnel and the price sheet confirms the free first-time trial (verified 2026-07-18)
Schedule verified Pricing published Free trial
Your first visit
- Trial
- Trial and observation are booked through the contact form or a social-media DM; the trial is free the first time only source · 2026-09-03
- Class schedule
- A class-schedule page is present on the own site; the grid times were not transcribed this pass source · 2026-09-03
Classes and cost
- Membership
- A first trial is free. Monthly fees, before tax, are 10,000 yen for men, 7,000 for women, 8,000 for high school and university students, and 7,000 for those middle school and under, while a parent and child or couple plan is 16,000 tax included. Enrollment is 10,000 yen, waived during the campaign for anyone not already belonging to another dojo. A visitor pays 3,000 yen, members of other Strapple branches pay 660 a visit, and a private lesson is 8,000 per person. Gi keeping is 9,000 yen a year, an annual prepay is 120,000, and a hold is 2,200 a month, in Japanese yen source · 2026-09-03
Location, instructors, contact
- Address
- Eminence Kameari Building 3F, 3-11-10 Kameari, Katsushika-ku, Tokyo 125-0061 (4 min from Kameari Station) source · 2026-07-18
- Instructors
- Head instructor Iwai Eiji; belt and lineage are not stated on the gym's pages source · 2026-07-18
Phone 080-9197-1813, email info@strapple-kameari.sakura.ne.jp Website Naver Map Apple Maps
Tri-Force Asakusabashi
Who this academy suits
A beginner who wants a standardized system over one coach's style: an HQ-managed room of Japan's biggest domestic network, with a published belt system, technique examinations, and a standing free trial
Why we say it: The network's own domain carries the curriculum pages, the schools list corroborates the room, and the branch page prints the free trial (verified 2026-07-18)
A parent in eastern Taito: kids and parent-child classes on the branch timetable with kids and family fee tiers, rare on this side of the Sobu line
Why we say it: The branch timetable names the kids and parent-child classes and the instructor page lists kids assistants (verified 2026-07-18)
A beginner who cares who teaches: a head whose published path runs through the HQ from 2015 under the founder, two Worlds qualifications, and a thousand classes a year before heading this 2023 branch
Why we say it: The own instructor page publishes the full bio (verified 2026-07-18, attributed)
Schedule verified Pricing published Franchise networkFree trialKids classesStructured curriculum
Your first visit
- Trial
- A free trial and observation anytime in writing, plus the network's monthly free-trial sessions with a dedicated application form (verified 2026-07-18) source · 2026-09-23
- Class schedule
- A monthly-calendar timetable, fixed on the 25th for the next month, closed the 7th, 17th, and 27th; kids and parent-child classes run, and doors open 30 minutes before class source · 2026-09-23
Classes and cost
- Membership
- Figures are before tax, given as enrollment then monthly per tier. Full time is 10,000 yen enrollment and 13,000 a month. An eight day plan is 10,000 and 11,000, Under 25 is 10,000 and 10,000, the ladies plan is 10,000 and 10,000, middle and high schoolers are 5,000 and 7,000, kids are 5,000 and 7,000, and a family plan is 5,000 and 4,000. Personal gi keeping is 10,000 yen, in Japanese yen source · 2026-09-23
- Programs
- Kids classes and a parent-child jiu-jitsu class, with kids and family membership tiers source · 2026-07-18
Location, instructors, contact
- Address
- Accorde Asakusabashi 1F, 3-26-3 Asakusabashi, Taito-ku, Tokyo 111-0053 (4 min from Kuramae Station) source · 2026-07-18
- Instructors
- Head instructor Yamada Hideyuki, by the network's own bio HQ-trained under founder Hayakawa from 2015, twice a Worlds qualifier, heading this branch since its 2023 founding source · 2026-07-18
Phone 03-5823-4333, email asakusabashi@triforce-bjj.com Website Naver Map Apple Maps
Tri-Force Ojima
Who this academy suits
A beginner who wants a standardized network room over one coach's style: an Ojima branch of Japan's biggest domestic network, with a published belt system and technique examinations
Why we say it: The own site self-identifies as Tri-Force and the network's schools list corroborates the room (verified 2026-07-18)
Someone whose schedule is daytime: the trial slots include weekday-morning 11:00 times on Wednesday, Thursday, and Saturday, hard to find on this side of Tokyo
Why we say it: The own schedule publishes the named per-day trial slots including the weekday-morning times, booked through the application funnel (verified 2026-07-18)
A beginner who cares who teaches: the head is a jiu-jitsu black belt and judo third dan by his own bio, posting publicly under his own name
Why we say it: The own site publishes the rank (attributed) and his own-name account (verified 2026-07-18)
Schedule verified Pricing published Franchise networkDaytime classes
Your first visit
- Trial
- A trial-application funnel with named per-day slots; the Ojima page does not mark the trial free, so no free-trial claim is made source · 2026-07-18
- Class schedule
- Named trial slots by day: Tue 20:00, Wed 11:00 and 19:30, Thu 11:00 and 20:00, Fri 21:00, Sat 11:00, Sun 11:15, with weekday-morning slots that are unusual for this area source · 2026-09-03
Classes and cost
- Membership
- The monthly fee is 15,000 yen for full time and 13,000 for a four times a month plan, in Japanese yen source · 2026-07-18
Location, instructors, contact
- Address
- 2F, 4-8-9 Ojima, Koto-ku, Tokyo 136-0072 (3 min from Ojima Station; the building is styled Dai-2 Kaminaga) source · 2026-07-18
- Instructors
- Head instructor Ishige Daizo, by the gym's own bio a first-degree jiu-jitsu black belt and judo third dan, who posts under his own name source · 2026-07-18
Phone 050-5437-8399 (the own-site line; the network list and JBJJF carry different numbers, to be reconciled) Website Naver Map Apple Maps
Ueno-Okachimachi Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu Club
Who this academy suits
A beginner near Ueno who cares who teaches: the head's own bio lists a jiu-jitsu black belt with judo and karate black belts and a run of masters titles, in a dedicated jiu-jitsu room rather than a class inside an MMA gym
Why we say it: The own site publishes the full attributed bio and presents a dedicated jiu-jitsu club (verified 2026-07-18)
A first-timer who wants to reserve online: a short walk from Shin-Okachimachi and Okachimachi stations, with trial reservations through the own site and LINE
Why we say it: The own page gives both station walks and runs the trial funnel through the site and LINE (verified 2026-07-18)
Schedule verified Pricing published
Your first visit
- Trial
- A trial booked through the club's own site and LINE; the pages do not mark it free, so no free-trial claim is made source · 2026-09-03
- Class schedule
- A class-schedule page on the own site, with members training across both rooms; the grid itself was not extracted this pass source · 2026-09-03
Classes and cost
- Membership
- Figures are before tax, with enrollment at 11,000 yen. Monthly fees are 14,000 for men, 11,000 for women, 10,000 for middle and high schoolers, and 12,000 for an eight session plan, with an extra session at 2,500. Sports insurance is 2,000 yen a year and gi rental is 1,500, in Japanese yen source · 2026-09-03
Location, instructors, contact
- Address
- Kenmochi Building 1F, 2-9-7 Higashi-Ueno, Taito-ku, Tokyo (5 min from Shin-Okachimachi Station) source · 2026-07-18
- Instructors
- Head instructor Takahashi Keita, by the club's own bio a Brazilian jiu-jitsu black belt who also holds judo and karate black belts, with a stack of self-published masters results source · 2026-07-18
matroom tokyo, Asakusa
Who this academy suits
A first-timer in Asakusa who wants zero-cost entry: a free trial and free first visitor session in writing, web-booked, landing in the beginner, basic or all-level class
Why we say it: The own site prints the free trial and first visitor session with web booking (verified 2026-07-18)
A beginner who wants a top-level competitor teaching: a black-belt head with an IBJJF Worlds silver and a 2026 All-Japan Open title by his own record, who crowdfunded the neighborhood's first specialist gym
Why we say it: The own staff page publishes the belt and results (2026-07-18) and the owner's campaign page documents the crowdfunded opening (2026-07-17)
A traveler or cross-training visitor: the day pass covers every class that day and other-gym members are welcome in writing, rare for this area
Why we say it: The own site publishes the visitor policy (verified 2026-07-18)
Schedule verified Pricing published Free trialDrop-ins welcomeNo-gi
Your first visit
- Trial
- The trial and first visitor session are free, booked through the web reservation and joining the beginner, basic or all-level class, basic recommended (verified 2026-07-18) source · 2026-07-18
- Class schedule
- A published class menu: a white-belt beginner class, a 60-minute basic class, all-level and no-gi classes each with an hour of open mat, a blue-belt-and-up competition class, privates, and visitor slots; a trial may join the beginner, basic or all-level class (basic recommended); exact weekly times live in the booking system source · 2026-09-03
Classes and cost
- Membership
- Enrollment is 10,000 yen, with a 0 yen campaign live at read time. Monthly plans, tax included, are four times a month 9,000 yen, eight times 11,000, unlimited 13,000, students 11,000, and kids 9,000 with a 7,000 family rate. A group personal plan is 50,000 yen a month, a visitor ticket is 3,000 a visit, and a private lesson is 10,000, with all major cards accepted, in Japanese yen source · 2026-07-18
Location, instructors, contact
- Address
- RIVER Asakusa 2F, 2-13-6 Hanakawado, Taito-ku, Tokyo 111-0033 (8 min from Asakusa Station) source · 2026-07-18
- Instructors
- Head Nomura Yuma, a black belt by the gym's own page, with a 2021 IBJJF Worlds silver at brown, a 2024 IBJJF Asian silver at black, and a 2026 JBJJF All-Japan Open black-belt title self-published source · 2026-07-18
- Founded
- Opened September 2025, crowdfunded at 120 percent of goal (3.62 million yen from 201 supporters, per the owner's campaign page) source · 2026-07-17
- Front-desk hours (not class times)
- Open 10:00-23:00, closed Mondays source · 2026-07-18
Phone 090-9839-9245, with booking through the web reservation system and mail yuma0445@gmail.com Website Naver Map Apple Maps
Frequently asked questions
Which academies in Eastern Tokyo offer a free trial?
CAVE BJJ, in Azumabashi: A free trial and observation booked four ways (calendar, inquiry, LINE or phone), with dated free trial sessions posted monthly; the campaign live at read time waives the enrollment fee and the first month and discounts the gi, noted as time-boxed marketing; Carpe Diem Fukagawa, at Morishita: A free trial and observation welcomed anytime, booked through LINE or the site form (verified 2026-07-18); Fighting Lab Monzen-Nakacho (Toikatsu Dojo chain): A free trial booked by the chain's web form; a same-day-join campaign waiving entry, first month, and registration was live at read time, noted as time-boxed marketing; NOW or NEVER, in Kameido: A free trial and observation anytime, booked in advance through the site form or LINE, with a class matched to your level; Paraestra Koiwa: A trial-reservation funnel; the enrollment page now prints a one-time 1,000 yen trial credited against joining, beside a line offering a free trial to those who contact the dojo in advance, so ask which applies …
How do I book a trial class?
It differs by academy. Where we could verify the booking method, it is listed under "Your first visit" in that academy's entry; otherwise, asking through the academy's official channel is the most reliable route.
I'm a complete beginner. Can I just show up?
It differs by academy. Entries show where a fundamentals program and first-visit process are verified. For the rest, check with the academy before visiting. For what a first class actually feels like, see the beginner posts on our blog.